The Brighton Prize exists to find inventive new writing


We were founded in 2014 by Rattle Tales, Brighton’s interactive short story evening.

Our roots mean we love stories that work on the stage as well as they do on the page.

If you can create a story that challenges us with new ideas while staying beautifully simple, there’s a good chance we’ll love it.


The 2018 Brighton Prize shortlists

The names of the authors will be made public when the winners are announced at our awards show on 18th November.


Short stories:

The Stairwell

The Ant is Me, That’s the Story

Andy’s Bankside Display Case


Joss n Jules Forever

Shooting Kenosi

Colourless Sound

Blue Line

Silly Season

A Long History of a Short Coat


Flash Fiction:


Spotting the Leopard

An Empty Pool

Father’s Favourite






Three Strands is All It Takes



Our judges this year are booker-longlisted novelist Alison MacLeod, literary agent at The Bent Agency Sarah Manning, and our own novelist and Brighton Prize director, Erinna Mettler.



Winning short story: £1000. 2 runners-up: £100 each.

Winning flash fiction: £500. 2 runners-up: £50 each.

Best story or flash fiction from a Sussex-based writer: £100 book token.


The 2017 Brighton Prize Winners

See them here


 The prize was judged by publisher Candida Lacey (Myriad Editions) and authors Sally O’Reilly (Dark Aemillia) and Erinna Mettler (Starlings).



Read about the winners of the 2016 Brighton Prize here


Join our mailing list here.

Questions? Email us.